The DemocracyReady NY Coalition is convened by the Center for Educational Equity at Teachers College, Columbia University. Our members include  educators, academics, education stakeholder groups, youth leaders, civic education practitioners, youth-development specialists, parents, civic leaders, and advocates. 

We strive to represent the entire state and be multigenerational, politically inclusive, and racially and socioeconomically diverse. We prioritize memberhsip recruitment to meet these goals. 




Gail Ehrlich, NYC DOE Teacher/Law Coach (retired)

Shira Epstein, The City College of New York

Lisa Kissinger, Shenendehowa Central Schools

Brett Levy, University at Albany, SUNY

Ioana Literat, Teachers College, Columbia University

John McNally, Horace Mann School

Jenny Osowski, Otselic Valley Central School District

Beth C. Rubin, Teachers College, Columbia University

Yolanda Sealey-Ruiz, Teachers College, Columbia University

Laura Smith, Teachers College, Columbia University

Barbara Stripling, Syracuse University 

Paul Tomizawa, Scarsdale Public Schools 

William Yang, Scarsdale Public Schools 


Youth Members 

Leila Adelstein, Latham, NY

Olivia Bernier, East Irondequoit/Rochester, NY

Zachary Carino, Westbury, NY 

Martine Dosa, Syracuse, NY

Ava Fung, Brooklyn, NY

Ashley Erin Holness, New Rochelle & Albany, NY 

Chris Kobara, Manhattan, NY

Jhan Motta, Queens, NY

Anna Potekhin, East Setauket, NY 

Kiera Reilly, Guilderland, NY

Azmira Suljic, Syracuse, NY

Chyanne Swain, Mount Vernon, NY



Back to skip to quick links